Get answers to your nutrition and healthy eating questions. Visit www.eatrightontario.ca or call us toll-free at 1-877-510-510-2.
Get answers to your nutrition & healthy eating questions.
Call us toll-free† at 1-877-510-510-2 to speak directly with a Registered Dietitian.
It is safe for most adults with celiac disease to have up to 3/4 cup (175 mL) a day of pure oats (measured dry). However, it is important to only use pure, uncontaminated oats. Since most oats sold in North America are processed near or with grains that contain gluten, the oats too may contain some gluten. Pure oats are gluten-free.
Some companies that make products from pure oats are Cream Hill Estates and Only Oats.
Words to look for on a package of oat products are: “gluten-free oats”, “pure, uncontaminated oats” or “certified gluten-free oats”.
Eating well with Celiac Disease
Facts about Wheat Allergies
For questions on healthy eating, call 1-877-510-510-2 to speak to an EatRight Ontario Registered Dietitian or send an email.
Watch this video to learn what to expect when you call EatRight Ontario.
This site is maintained by Dietitians of Canada.
Copyright © Dietitians of Canada 2013. All rights reserved.
Dietitians of Canada acknowledges the financial support of EatRight Ontario by the Ontario government. The views expressed do not necessarily reflect those of the Province.