Can people with celiac disease eat oats?

It is safe for most adults with celiac disease to have up to 3/4 cup (175 mL) a day of pure oats (measured dry). However, it is important to only use pure, uncontaminated oats. Since most oats sold in North America are processed near or with grains that contain gluten, the oats too may contain some gluten. Pure oats are gluten-free.

Words to look for on a package of oat products are: “gluten-free oats”, “pure, uncontaminated oats” or “certified gluten-free oats”. 

You may also be interested in:

Eating well with Celiac Disease
Facts about Wheat Allergies

Last Update – October 17, 2017

Mail Icon Phone Icon

If you have questions about what you've read here, or other questions about food, nutrition or healthy eating, click to email our Registered Dietitians or call 1-877-510-5102.